Best FIFA Football Awards: When and where is the ceremony? How to watch? Who votes? Who are nominees?

The Best FIFA Football Awards are set to take place this month to recognise outstanding achievements from 2022.

Robert Lewandowski and Alexia Putellas won the Best FIFA Men’s Player and Best FIFA Women’s Player awards last year, and among the nominees for the men’s and women’s awards this time around are Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Beth Mead and Putellas.

Here’s everything you need to know about the awards, including when they are held, where they take place, who votes for the awards, how to watch the awards, and the award categories…


FIFA’s The Best Awards: Who is nominated for the men’s award? Who is nominated for the women’s?


When are the Best FIFA Football Awards?

The award ceremony takes places on Monday, February 27 and will start at 8pm GMT.

After being a virtual event in 2022 due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the ceremony will take place in Paris this year.

What are the Best FIFA Football Awards?

The awards were launched in 2016 and, according to FIFA, “crown the outstanding figures in world football”.

This will be the seventh Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony and previous winners include Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric, Megan Rapinoe and Lucy Bronze.

What are the categories at the Best FIFA Football Awards?

There are nine different prizes to be awarded. They are:

  • Best Men’s Player
  • Best Women’s Player
  • Best Men’s Coach
  • Best Women’s Coach
  • Best Men’s Goalkeeper
  • Best Women’s Goalkeeper
  • Puskas Award
  • Best Fan Award
  • FIFA Fair Play Award
You can see the full list of nominees for the awards here.

Who votes for the Best FIFA Football Awards?

While the Ballon d’Or is decided by votes from 100 journalists from around the world, the Best FIFA Football Awards takes votes from four different groups.

The list of candidates for each category is first selected by FIFA, and then voted on by media representatives, national team coaches, national team captains and fans.

The weight of votes is evenly distributed between the four groups, meaning each group has 25% of the total vote.

Voting for the general public closed on February 3, although it is possible to vote for the winner of the Best FIFA Fan Award until February 26.

‘His club’ – Ten Hag on his meetings with Sir Alex

How to watch the Best FIFA Football Awards?

You can watch the Best FIFA Football Awards live on the FIFA website on Monday, February 27.

Who are the favourites to win the 2022 Best FIFA Football Awards?

Messi is the top contender for the men’s award after leading Argentina to victory at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Putellas is aiming to win the women’s award for the second year in a row but faces competition from Mead, whose six goals helped England win Euro 2022.

England manager Sarina Wiegman should be a strong contender for the Best FIFA Women’s Coach award as the Lionesses went unbeaten last year and won the Euros.

Who won the 2021 Best FIFA Football Awards?

The list of winners from last year were:

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Robert Lewandowski
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Alexia Putellas
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: Edouard Mendy
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Thomas Tuchel
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes
  • The FIFA Puskas Award: Erik Lamela
  • The FIFA Fair Play Award: Denmark national team and medical staff
  • The FIFA Fan Award: Denmark and Finland fans

Are the Best FIFA Football Awards different to the Ballon d’Or?


The Ballon d’Or is an annual award that has been presented by French magazine France Football since 1956.

It takes place in October and the men’s and women’s awards were won last year by Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema and Barcelona’s Putellas.

Europa League

‘You do it or you’re out’ – Fernandes reveals how Ten Hag laid down law to Rashford and Ronaldo



Legendary football commentator John Motson dies aged 77


Source link